"QUITE SIMPLY, THE BEST HORROR-THEMED BLOG ON THE NET." -- Joe Maddrey, Nightmares in Red White & Blue

**Find The Vault of Horror on Facebook and Twitter, or download the new mobile app!**

**Check out my other blogs, Standard of the Day, Proof of a Benevolent God and Lots of Pulp!**

Tuesday, June 16, 2009

2009 Stoker Winners Announced! And LoTTD Members Among Them!!

The Bram Stoker Awards, horror literature's highest annual accolades, were presented on Saturday in Burbank, California by the Horror Writers Association. I'd like to throw out my sincerest congrats to all the winners, but most notably to my fellow League of Tana Tea Drinkers cohorts, Vince Liaguno and Chad Helder, who snagged the Stoker for Best Anthology, for their collection of queer horror fiction, Unspeakable Horror: From the Shadows of the Closet. Nicely done, gentlemen, nicely done.

Stephen King, needless to say, walked away with a couple of Stokers, as usual--this time around he got Best Novel for Duma Key, and Best Fiction Collection fort Just After Sunset.

Other Stoker winners included:

  • First Novel: The Gentling Box by Lisa Mannetti
  • Long Fiction: Miranda by John R. Little
  • Short Fiction: "The Lost" by Sarah Langan
  • Nonfiction: A Halloween Anthology by Lisa Morton
  • Poetry Collection: The Nightmare Collection by Bruce Boston


John Sunseri said...

Good stuff! Two of the books I appeared in last year made the preliminary ballots, but no luck making the short lists. But I've got a decent shot at next year...

Congratulations to all the winners!

B-Sol said...

And good luck to you next year, John!

Ms Harker said...

I've read good things bout 'The Lost' your thoughts?

B-Sol said...

I've heard nothing but good things about Sarah Langan in general. She also has a piece in Unspeakable Horror.

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...